PDA

View Full Version : Board joining (pt 2)

dougj1715
04-27-2003, 9:14 AM
Is it better to join all peices at the same time (3 boards 1X6) and clamp them up or is it better to join two of the three and then the third board later.

Also what is the typical curing time for wood glue?

After going out and spending all my money on the tools I over looked the obvious and am short on clamps ( this must be what is meant by "can't have too many clamps")so I am limited on the number of panels I can do at one time.

Is it obvious that I am new to this? I figured a question today will prevent a problem tomorrow.

Ken Salisbury
04-27-2003, 9:24 AM
Originally posted by dougj1715
Is it better to join all peices at the same time (3 boards 1X6) and clamp them up or is it better to join two of the three and then the third board later.

Also what is the typical curing time for wood glue?

After going out and spending all my money on the tools I over looked the obvious and am short on clamps ( this must be what is meant by "can't have too many clamps")so I am limited on the number of panels I can do at one time.

Is it obvious that I am new to this? I figured a question today will prevent a problem tomorrow.

Doug,

I normally glue up an entire panel unless of course it is real wide and with lots of boards. In the case you describe I would do all 3 boards at the same time.

I normally leave the panel glue-up cure overnight, although 2 to 3 hours is sufficient.

True "You can never have enough clamps"

If you don't ask questions -- you can't get answers. --- Unless you want to live in your local public library.

dougj1715
04-27-2003, 9:43 AM
Thanks for a quick response and thanks to all that will respond. Out to the garage I go.

Bill Esposito
04-27-2003, 11:45 AM
If you are in need of some clamps and have the extra cash Redmond Machinery has a sale on Gross-Stabile parallel bar clamps. Even with shipping you can still save $5-10/clamp over local purchases.