PDA

View Full Version : To strop or not to strop? That is the ...

Rich Seifert
03-16-2012, 10:21 PM
Just asking. I've heard that stropping is bad for handplanes, but I just saw the "which side up" question and saw a good number of you responded, so I'm assuming that stropping is popular(?). Rob Cosman suggested not stropping in a recent class I took--but I don't remember why. He taught sharpening with a Shapton 1000 and 16000. He admitted that he used to insist on the Shapton 30000, but he's not suggesting doing so any more... So, how much more does stropping really do?

Even more so, I'm new at all of this neanderthal stuff and haven't used any of it yet. The WS is still in the box, as are the stones and handplanes. I just bought Sigma Power Select II's in 1000 and 10000. I also have a WorkSharp 3000 with 3M's Cubitron paper 80 thru 400, and Carborundum Premier Red in 600, 800, 1000, 1200 and 1500-grit PSA for the WS3000. I have no idea how running the A2 plane blades through this finishing schedule will compare to the Sigma Select II's 10000 stone. Just trying to get smart before I get started ... looking forward to hearing from you experienced folks. Thanks! Rich

Tri Hoang
03-16-2012, 11:15 PM
Stropping is inexpensive, effective, and efficient. You can attain & keep really sharp edge for a long time with stropping before having to return to stones. I've used an expensive 10K Chosera stone for sometime & could not tell the difference in sharpness between using it and a Shapton 5K + strop. There are a wide varieties of stropping compound and vast differences among them. A simple leather strop with pure chromium oxide easily match sharpness produced by any of the more expensive/exotic stones as far as woodworking tools are concern.

Bob Strawn
03-16-2012, 11:55 PM
Seems rather crazy all the arguments and advice. Rob Cosman is a good educator, but he is also a businessman and he sells stones.