PDA

View Full Version : How to flatten a big green SiC stone?

Fred Bryant
03-16-2012, 8:12 PM
Well, first some background. I am new to this handtool, and hence, sharpening stuff. Up till I moved last, I had a grinder and a2X8X1 King combo 1000/6000 waterstone. I was flattening by sandpaper on a piece of granite with the associated mess. When I move, the granite and grinder got packed away, but I got a DMT 4x10 duosharp course/fine diamond plate.

While traveling on the road for work, this worked great as it well small, compact, and a whole lot less messy. Being on the road, there was not much woodworking, but I was able to collect some vintage tools and worked on rehabbing them in the hotel at night. Things were fine, but I found I needed a grinding stone, so I got a generic big green SiC 220 grit waterstone ( 10x5x4 ). All was fine at first, but then my diamond stone gave up the ghost. I wrote it off to pour product quality or just the nature of diamond stone ( not sure which lie I told myself ).

Well in a previous thread it was mentioned that a coarse waterstone will eat a diamond stone in short order that normally would last a long time on finer stones ( 1000 & up ). A light went on; the abrasive on the coarse stone is large enough to reach the nickel bonding substrate on the diamond store. So, while the diamond store was flattening the coarse SiC stone, the coarse SiC stone was compromising the nickel substrate that was holding the diamonds. This match what I recall seeing on the DMT stone, yellow plastic showing through were the nickel was. An expensive lesson learned.