PDA

View Full Version : Montana Woodworkers (Bitterroot, Mission, Flathead Valleys)

Douglas Clark
03-15-2012, 11:26 PM
Hi all... haven't been on the forum for a while due to moving to Montana a few months ago. Now that I'm in Montana and starting to settle in I'm looking to meet some fellow woodworkers. Right now, all of my shop equipment is still in storage in CA and I've been suffering withdrawals; however, I'm lucky to have a friend here in the Mission Valley, another Creeker, who is graciously letting me use his shop to do my latest project. In the meantime, I'm also looking around for opportunities to learn, exchange services, or even job opportunities. For instance, with my friend in Mission Valley, I've been putting some of his past projects into SketchUp models and plans.

Anyhow, Although I'm not a total newb to shop work, I still consider myself a relative beginner to Fine Woodworking; so, I'm looking for any opportunity to fellowship with, learn from, work with anybody out there who likes to meet fellow enthusiasts and show off their work.

And, for now, cheers and happy St. Patricks day! :D

Larry Edgerton
03-16-2012, 7:01 PM
Guess you are out of luck, but I am sure there are some.

I used to live in Kalispell and went to school in Missoula. You are in a nice area.

I almost bought a hotel in Lincoln a couple of years ago, but the pine beetle infestation scared me off. Lincoln would be kind of ugly with no trees. I may regret not making the move, but it was an all or nothing move, and I chickened out.

Don't make too much of being from California if you want to make friends of the natives. There is a lot of bad blood there from when it became popular for the Hollywood types to buy up large tracts and fence them off.

Larry

Douglas Clark
03-18-2012, 4:36 AM
Thanks for the response Larry. I'll keep looking, because I do love meeting new people and I love opportunities to do projects.