PDA

View Full Version : Which would be better to add to my new workshop?

JoAnn Duggan
03-14-2012, 7:42 PM
Hi:

I am a new beginner into the woodworking hobby. I have a miter saw, router and table, and table saw. I am trying to decide if it would be better to get a drum sander or a planer to add to my basement shop. I would really appreciate any advice you could give me as I am not sure which way would be more productive for me. I have been reseaching the Jet 16-32 drum sander and the Delta 735 planer. Do you need both or would you use one more than the other?

JoAnn

Dave Anthony
03-14-2012, 7:49 PM
I would definitely go with the planer. I use my planer on every project, the drum sander is rarely used.

Van Huskey
03-14-2012, 7:57 PM
Don't get me wrong I love my drum sander but a planer is part of what I consider the 5 core machines:

Table Saw
Band Saw
Drill Press
Jointer
Planer

Mark Engel
03-14-2012, 8:00 PM
Planer. No question.

Steve Griffin
03-14-2012, 8:21 PM
Without knowing what you make, it's impossible to say for sure.

I can imagine some woodworking interests which might need a drum sander over a planer--maybe inlay art oriented work, small crafts or if you have a mill provide jointed/planed wood.

But for for most people doing conventional woodworking, planer for sure.

mreza Salav
03-14-2012, 8:48 PM
I suppose you have a good dust collection method, otherwise it should come first.
If you do, then I'd go with a planer way ahead of a drum sander. I have both but planer is much more important in dimensioning rough lumber.

JoAnn Duggan
03-14-2012, 8:59 PM
I ordered the Jet Vortex 1100 dust collection and it should be here in the next few days. Thank you everyone for your advice , as I am a complete novice I really appreciate your advice. What planer would you recommend for a beginner? I have been looking at the Dewalt 735 planer and also the Rigid and the Makita at Home depot.

Van Huskey
03-14-2012, 9:31 PM