PDA

View Full Version : Time for new screws

Prashun Patel
03-13-2012, 10:58 AM
I need to replenish my stock of 1 1/4" and 1 3/4" general construction screws. I use them for everything from furniture to faceplate mounting on a lathe, to general use around the house.

I prefer a flat head, square or combo recess.

I've been using Deckmates from BORG for a couple years. But recently they've switched the recess to star and the lengths I want are only avail in a #6-7. Also, I've noticed they tend to overdrive in just about anything, stripping out the hole threads and spinning freely.

I've been also using Spax screws, but have had one or two of those snap, and the head is prone to camming out. For faceplate mounting where the screw needs to be removed and inserted a number of times, this reduces its life span.

Any specific recommendations? I'll probably go McFeely's, but which one?

Steve Meliza
03-13-2012, 11:38 AM
I recently got some #14 SPAX and was surprised how badly the #3 square driver bit was camming out, but none snapped. I have use a fair amount of McFeely's standard clear zinc screws and have been very happy with them, just pick any of these screws that are not SPAX: http://www.mcfeelys.com/flat-zinc-screws-c

Prashun Patel
03-13-2012, 11:45 AM
Thanks, Steve. Yes, I was surprised at the Spax too. I recently made a table that requires the legs to be screwed into the stretcher. It is supposed to be a strong connection. I dropped the table and snapped the leg - and the #10 3" screw.

I've read so many positive things about them, that I am reluctant to give up on them, but I'm going to feel out McFeelys' this time. Thx for the rec.

Sean Hughto
03-13-2012, 11:50 AM
McFeely's are awesome. I like the standard square drive wood screw line. I like the 14's for my face plates - I think like 1 1/4 or 1 1/2 long.

Richard Wolf
03-13-2012, 4:25 PM