PDA

View Full Version : CPO Bosch Factory-Reconditioned tools

Tony Falotico
03-23-2005, 7:56 PM
Anyone have any experience with Factory-Recons? The Webb site http://bosch.cpotools.com/reconditioned/ says they are an authorized dealer of the Robert Bosch Tool Corporation. The prices seem pretty good. They carry the same warranty as new. Any pitfalls here??

John Hart
03-23-2005, 8:39 PM
I bought a Makita Chainsaw that was factory reconditioned. It was a rental at a Home Depot and I got it half price. It is an excellent tool. You're looking at power tools though which is a pretty different animal. As an electrical engineer, I can tell you that as long as the factory replaces the bearings, brushes(if any), and other wearable motor parts, it'll probably last a good long time. If I'm not mistaken, you can request the specifications that they are required to meet, and you should be able to compare that to the new specifications and get a pretty good idea before you spend a dime. Chances are, you're looking at a pretty good deal.

You got my interest!
~john

Dino Makropoulos
03-23-2005, 8:58 PM
Any pitfalls here??

Nop.We have a factory store in NJ I buy saws and routers for 'friends'.
90% is just open boxes/returns. the other 10% you can't tell if they're new used or recon. And they come with full guarantee.
Go for it. :cool:

Al Lupone
03-23-2005, 10:38 PM
I purchased the recon 4000 saw for what I thought was a good price. When I got it, it appeared to be brand new. Had it for about a month & was squaring everything up. Ended up stripping the raising gear as I could not adjust it as the screws securing it were put on by Gov Arnold.Brought it to the local dealer who sent it out to the service center. Had it back within a week. Warrantee covered with no ???'s.