PDA

View Full Version : Oliver 4620 bandsaw

Jaromir Svoboda
03-04-2012, 3:34 PM
I like to buy a new bandsaw soon and saw Oliver 4620 14" bandsaw.
Does anybody have one?It looks heavy duty.
Thank you.

Carroll Courtney
03-04-2012, 4:43 PM
Don't know anything about that model,but Oliver has a good reputation as being one of the best and anything made by them is HD providing that its one of the older models that was made here in the states.Post some pics love to see it----Carroll
Between SMC and OWWM a person can't go wrong w/Oliver

David Kumm
03-04-2012, 4:49 PM
the 4640 is made in Asia. the Oliver name was bought by the Sunhill guy some years ago. I've no personal experience but the reputation is that it is good Asian stuff. If you have the budget you whould check out the Felder 540 on Woodweb at $1800. Saw is an ACM and the heavier model. Worth several times the Oliver for a few hundred more. Dave You would need a vfd as it is three phase but just an example.

Jaromir Svoboda
03-04-2012, 6:10 PM
Its on E bay new for $ 1,320

David Kumm
03-04-2012, 6:45 PM
Its on E bay new for $ 1,320

That is for the Oliver. The Felder i spoke of is well over $3K new. A 20" saw will handle anything a 14" will and be a decent resaw machine. Not trying to reinvent your wheel, just a fan of higher quality used. Dave

Van Huskey
03-04-2012, 10:31 PM