PDA

View Full Version : Powermatic shaper 25a

Prashun Patel
03-03-2012, 12:08 PM
I have the chance to get this safer almost new for about $1000 delivered.

I Am an avid hobbyist and believe a router table will do fine for my needs. Is this a good buy or should I instead spend my money on a tricked out router table?

i can't find any reviews for this machine online.

Bill White
03-03-2012, 2:17 PM
Just me, but the shaper cutters are pretty expensive, and I feel the router in a good table set up gives me all the flexibility I need in my shop. Having the variable speed router sure has been a plus.
If you were in a real production mode, the shaper might be an asset.
My vote (with your money) is for a nice router table.
Bill

Chris Hedges
03-03-2012, 2:28 PM
My votes is for the shaper. You are gonna spend at least that much on router, table, and lift. With the shaper you get a much better motor that develops a heck of a lot more torque. As for bits, call powermatic tech and have them ship you the router collet assembly and you are off to the races.

joe milana
03-03-2012, 3:05 PM
That shaper with a euro block cutter & you would have a decent little machine. Boxes sets provied a nice collection of profiles for less than $500. Performance while spinning router bits would be marginal at best. Just not enough RPM. I can't think of anything you couldn't do with this setup that could be done on a router table. Setup on a tricked out router table may be easier.

Chris Hedges
03-03-2012, 7:03 PM
You can easily compensate for lower Rpm by slowing down your feed rate.

Chris

Peter Quinn
03-03-2012, 7:17 PM