PDA

View Full Version : Shoji doors

Jay Jolliffe
03-02-2012, 4:52 PM
I'm a little apprehensive posting these on here as I've seen some incredible work on the forum. I don't know how the pic's will show up as I've never tried to post pic's in order before. So here goes
225999The first two show the process of laying it out & cutting the various angles & pieces.
The next one shows the center panel that was made from two panels & joined at the middle. The last one shows the four panels with the first & last that slide behind the center panels. I had a pic showing that but I guess it got lost somewhere posting this. They were made from poplar with a veneered panel at the bottom with Macasser Ebony. The material is a lamanated paper & in the diamonds at the top are colored glass & at the bottom diamonds they are 2'' beveled glass. The finish is two coats black alchol base dye with three coats of wipe on poly. I had to make six grids as the sliding doors look the same on the other side. O forgot to say the door on the right is a closet & the door on the left is a bathroom. I really liked making these. The first on took about eight hrs to do because I made a template from the first one so the other ones went faster. Boy this is getting long & I don't know if it's making any sense.

Thomas Bank
03-02-2012, 6:57 PM
I'm a little apprehensive posting these on here as I've seen some incredible work on the forum.

You're apprehensive about showing that you joined the club of people who've posted incredible work on here? I'm not sure why you're apprehensive about that! :D

Sam Murdoch
03-02-2012, 8:37 PM
Yeah Jay - be proud and loud :D. So what did you use for the tracks?
Very nicely done!

Sam

glenn bradley
03-02-2012, 8:41 PM
Me likey! The macasser offset by the black is classic.

Andrew Hughes
03-02-2012, 9:11 PM