PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations on Bookcase Finish.

AJ Johnson
03-02-2012, 11:33 AM
Hello,

I've been a hobbyist woodworker for a few years with a few simple furniture pieces under my belt. In the past, I have put less emphasis on the finishing process due to inexperience. I've only used oil based stains (oak) and poly (also oil, Minwax or Zar) applied by brush.

My new piece is a bookcase for my son's room built with Birch ply and Poplar top and trim. Since the grain is not the best looking, and two species used, I'm looking to do a Dark Walnut stain/dye followed by a Lacquer finish.

To step-up my finish quality, I bough a Fuji MM4 and want to try waterborne products now (EM6000).

Questions:

1. Considering the woods I'm using, what would be the best way to color or dye?

2. Am I going to have blotchy coverage with Poplar/Birch?

3. I have a can of Minwax Tung Oil. Would a coating of that before stain and Lacquer (with proper drying) richen the grain pattern? Or is this a bad workflow?

4. I want to try Lacquer to see how it finishes compared to Poly. Is this durable enough for a bookcase?

Thanks guys,

A.J.

Jim Summers
03-02-2012, 2:53 PM
Hello,

I've been a hobbyist woodworker for a few years with a few simple furniture pieces under my belt. In the past, I have put less emphasis on the finishing process due to inexperience. I've only used oil based stains (oak) and poly (also oil, Minwax or Zar) applied by brush.

My new piece is a bookcase for my son's room built with Birch ply and Poplar top and trim. Since the grain is not the best looking, and two species used, I'm looking to do a Dark Walnut stain/dye followed by a Lacquer finish.

To step-up my finish quality, I bough a Fuji MM4 and want to try waterborne products now (EM6000).

Questions:

1. Considering the woods I'm using, what would be the best way to color or dye?

I have switched over to dye for most things now and really like it. I am not good enough yet with my LVLP gun to try tinting.