PDA

View Full Version : Any LA woodworkers here?

Jason White
03-01-2012, 7:03 PM
Hey guys.

I'm a TV producer and just moved to LA a few months ago. Looking for some fun woodworking-type stuff to do/stores to explore here. Any suggestions?

Oh, and if you happen to work in television, I'm looking for a job! ;)

Jason

Damon Stathatos
03-01-2012, 8:48 PM
I know of a good place in Sierra Madre...

But more seriously, go to a Rockler Store, pick up a free copy of Woodworker's West Magazine, and you'll find a lot of local resources that may otherwise escape you.

Jason White
03-02-2012, 1:56 AM
Had not heard of that magazine. Thanks for the tip!

Jason

Rick Potter
03-03-2012, 4:47 AM
You might want to take two tours.

1. The home tour in Pasadena, where they have the Green & Green craftsman style homes. They have specialized tours for people interested in more than a walk through.

2. The Sam Maloof home and workshop tour in Alta Loma (Rancho Cucamonga).

Rick Potter

Sam Layton
03-04-2012, 11:21 PM
Hi Jason,

Welcome to LA. I am about 25 to 35 miles east of you, depending what part of LA you live. If you are looking for wood, there are several places that have a good supply. If it is exotic you are looking for, Sierra Madre Sawing and Milling, has more wood that you could ever use in a few lifetimes... Also, not far from you is Bohnhoff Lumber Company in Vernon, CA. 3411 E 26th St. (323) 263-9361. They have a good supply of wood in the rough. Then there is Lane Stanton Vance Lumber Co, 20501 Earlgate, Diamond Bar, CA. Tel: 909-598-2797. They also have a good selection of Lumber. Several others around depending on what you want.

Sam

Shawn Pixley
03-05-2012, 12:46 AM