PDA

View Full Version : on the lookout for a laser but clueless, please help

James Higgon
03-01-2012, 4:21 PM
Hello, i have been on the lookout for a budget laser for some time now to engrave, leather, plastic and anodised aluminium, and probably alot more in the future. Im a complete novice and have never used an engraver or any of the software in my life. I am mostly looking at hpcs range as i noticed they have a forum and probably have the best backup and after sales service?
I have my eye on both the ls3020 and ls3040, has anyone any experience with either of these? the 3040 is almost double the price and to be honest im not really sure of the difference between the two. Considering my main aim is to only engrave not cut do you think id have much need for the 3040? also are there any other machines i should be looking at for around the £2500 mark (preferably less though) ?
Also how easy would you say im going to find setting up and using a machine? im not great with computers but am mostly (for now at least) only after pasting images into software and having it engrave it, and also engraving text.
any help is greatly appreciated as i dont seem to be getting any closer to a decision on my own

Joe Hillmann
03-01-2012, 4:24 PM
I don't know anything about either of those two lasers, but I have never met a laser owner who wishes they bought a smaller or less powerful laser.

Gary Hair
03-01-2012, 4:33 PM
hpcs looks to me like a reseller of Chinese produced lasers. There is enough info here at SMC to order one yourself and potentially save quite a bit of money. If you need the support they provide, assuming they provide worthwhile support, then it may be worth the extra to have them around. However, there is enough support here that you may not need them. Just a thought.

Gary

john banks
03-01-2012, 5:33 PM