PDA

View Full Version : Wood for a Pendant

Ken Frohnert
02-25-2012, 10:03 PM
I am pretty new to turning but a guy at my woodturning club turned small piece of "Lemonwood" (? I think) into a neat 2 1/2 inch pendant - he put it on a nice leather thong. I was really nice. I though that I could probably get some turning experience by turning a couple for my wife. So today I made a glue block and put a 1/2 dowel in it so I can hold it in my drill chuck - figure I can double side tape the pendant to the glue block. I will use the tailstock and a scrap piece to keep pressure against the pendant until I have it about finished - then I can pull the tailstock back and just rely on the tape.

Anyway, I guess I need about a 2.5"x2.5" piece of wood about 1/2" thick or so to start with. I am not really knowledgeable about exotic woods and not sure what would work nice; e.g. have some interesting color and grain. Anyone have any suggestions for wood types to try - I may be able to buy a small piece a woodcraft and get a few 2.5" x 2.5" x .5" piece out of it. Not sure what variety of wood though - any suggestions?

David E Keller
02-25-2012, 11:40 PM
Lots of options for something like that depending on your tastes(or hers). Any of the rosewoods and most burls work well. Curly maple and boxelder burl are both excellent woods if you want to try your hand at dyeing a few. Olive, ebony, and even acrylics can be interesting. Pear works well if you want to add pyrography afterward. I would avoid buckeye and heavily spalted stuff unless its been stabilized, but just about everything else is fair game.

Marty Eargle
02-25-2012, 11:47 PM