PDA

View Full Version : Grading or Evaluating Hand cut Dovetails

Erik Johanson
02-22-2012, 2:40 PM
Not sure if this would be the right place for this but I thought I would give it a try any how. I am a Technology Education teacher at a high school where among other subjects I teach a few woods courses. I have recent assigned my students to cut a set of Hand-cut Dovetails. Teaching them about how to lay them out, how to cut them out, etc. The idea was to give them some real practice using a chisel, hand saw, and various other hand tools. I am getting near the end of the project, The joints don't look terrible....some of them any way, and I am having difficulty creating a rubric (a teaching tool used to help evaluate a students work based on a specific set of criteria). I was wondering if maybe if some of you guys could help guide me in the right direction.

My question is this: If you were evaluating someones work who had made hand-cut dovetails, what would you look for? What qualities do you feel are most important in a good quality dovetail joint?

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

bob blakeborough
02-22-2012, 2:50 PM
It depends whether or not you are grading on a cosmetic or function... In the old days, dovetail were purely functional and were not usually used in places they would be seen so they were not concerned with the cosmetics as much as just fitting tight. Nowadays people use them for cosmetic appeal more often than not, and that is completely different.

Jim Koepke
02-22-2012, 3:10 PM
It may be necessary to create a few different grading criteria.

Fit - least gaps.

Visual appeal, this could even include proud pins & tails that are lightly paired to have a more tactile feel to the joint.

Straightness/cleanlyness of saw & chisel work

Best for each style if some are using the thin tailed "London" style as opposed to ones made for equal sized pins & tails. Maybe some students will select the most contrasting woods or other considerations.

jtk