PDA

View Full Version : What wood or PVC for external trim garage door

Andrew Pitonyak
02-18-2012, 12:32 PM
My garage door is trimmed in wood that is in strong need of replacement. Currently the wood is painted white. I am a unsure what best to use to replace this. My understanding is that if I use PVC then it should be done for good.... and if I am happy with white then I expect that I won't need to paint it, but I have no experience with PVC (with respect to use as trim and similar). The current setup on the inside is as follows:

There is a board (marked in green) that is roughly 3/4" x 5 1/2". For PVC, I trivially saw 1" board, but not 3/4". The 1/2" board in red serves as a decorative trim and also holds weather stripping that is pushed into a slot cut in the back of the board. With regular wood, I can trivially run a board through my planer and use my router table to slot the back (after I figure out where to purchase the rubber like weather stripping, which I expect will be easy to find). I am a bit concerned about doing too much to PVC since I have never used it and done things like planed it down or run it through a router.

Even the outside has a few mystery items. The board marked in blue appears to be a single piece of wood roughly 1 1/4" thick and 2 1/8" wide. The mystery is that it looks like wood has been run through a router so that there is a roughly 1/8" or 1/4" thick decorative thing around the outside edge. This edge is flat for 1/2" and then there is a 1/2" chamfer. Again, this is purely decorative, but, there is an aluminum piece along the very top edge. I noticed that it is not sloped out as it should be (it should not slope back towards the garage or water will get behind.... Something else to fix while I am handling this).

So, should I try to find a supplier of PVC type wood to handle this, or what type of wood should I use?