PDA

View Full Version : Resharpend Planer Knives?

James White
02-16-2012, 4:29 PM
What should I expect from resharpened knives. This is my first time using a sharpening service for planer knives. I have in the past sharpened my own jointer and planer knives. Till they are shave sharp. I know not to expect that. I even believe there is a school of thought that planer knives should not be all that sharp. Because they will not be durable when so sharp. Is that true?

Do any of you hone your blades after getting them back. It seems that the knives have about a 400 grit finish on the bevel. That's just a rough guess. But should I hone the bevel and the backs? What is the ideal bevel angle? Would it be good to put a micro bevel on. Or should I just install them as is?

I would like to hear your thought on this and what you normally do. To get the best finish and longest life. Also if you know of any articles or authors that have done some testing on this. Then please share.

I recently read a tip in a mag about making a small jig with a diamond hone in it. To touch up the planer knives. Anyone know what magazine that was? I tried finding it in my magazines. But so far I am unable to find were I saw it.

James

glenn bradley
02-16-2012, 4:33 PM
My local sharpeners finish up with 600 grit which leaves an edge about like a razor blade. Not chisel or hand plane sharp but, very much a 'slice your finger if you're not careful' sharp. Durability can have to do with the material and angle.

Bill White
02-16-2012, 4:35 PM
Have ya honed/deburred the flat side of the knives?
Bill

James White
02-16-2012, 4:40 PM
Oh. By the way this is for a 25" planer. So honing will be a bit tricky.

Glenn,

I am sure these are not that sharp. I used an industrial service and I am not sure what grit they use. But I can tell they are not all that sharp. These are Freud blades and the backs still have a circular pattern that seems just a tad finer than that.

James

James White
02-16-2012, 4:59 PM