PDA

View Full Version : Getting money from a different country

Stefan Antwarg
03-20-2005, 10:17 AM
I have no experience with this, so I am hoping someone can help me. I might be selling an item to a guy in Japan. He has 500000 yen which converts to about $4774. I got that conversion from yahoo finance. How should he send it to me? Mail me a check in his own funds? Convert it in Japan and send me a check? Paypal? What's the best way?

Than I have to ship it (it's a tuba - pretty big).

Stefan

Matt Meiser
03-20-2005, 11:01 AM
I would be very careful. There are a lot of scams based on international transactions. I see sellers requiring certified funds drawn on US banks. I'd look into this. A talk with your bank manager might give you some insight on how to ensure a safe transaction, and how long you should wait for funds to clear after receiving them. I would make him pay any conversion fees as well. I would not consider Paypal to be safe. I would never use paypal for a large transaction as a seller.

Stefan Antwarg
03-20-2005, 11:10 AM
So you are saying to have him send me a certified check in US funds?

Stefan

Matt Meiser
03-20-2005, 12:54 PM
So you are saying to have him send me a certified check in US funds?

I think so, but I'm not clear on the differnce (if any) between a certified check and a cashier's check.) I think what's important is that its drawn on a US bank because it will clear more quickly and its validity can be more easily verified.

Ian Barley
03-20-2005, 1:05 PM
Stefan

It is pretty difficult to guarantee that the sender pays all costs. It is also important to bear in mind how things can look from the other guys point of view. Matt is right about scams but you're Japanese correspondent may have the same advise given to him about you. It may well come down to how well you know the other guy and how much you can trust each other.