PDA

View Full Version : Hello! and some questions about a current and former project

Melanie Rys
02-12-2012, 9:50 PM
Hello! I guess to anyone who is reading this thread it's no surprise that i'm new here so i'll go ahead and introduce myself and get all those formalities out of the way. :)

My name is Melanie, as you can see from my username. I am an up and coming woodworker, just starting out. I am a horse person. I have a lot of stuff, and think plastic boxes are really tacky and so started my first real foray into real woodworking.

I've never been a stranger to a hammer and so once i needed a box i got some plans from the awesome people at http://elitetackdesign.com/ (hope that plug is not against forum rules but i do love them so much that i'll risk it, if not then mods please remove) and went to work! A very kind person from one of my horse forums pointed me to this place (Jim B.) and so here i am!

My first project is the light colored box in the attachments.... finishing from this first project was a trainwreck. Never again will i use polyshades! It seemed like a really awesome idea in theory and not knowing any better i bought it...... it was so awful. I dont know how this stuff stays on the market. So, that was box #1, my personal box. It was met with such fanfare at my barn that i started tinkering around and improving on my last design and when word got out that i was building a second it was sold before it was even finished.