PDA

View Full Version : First pen from my own "Casting"

Donny Lawson
02-12-2012, 5:29 PM
This is something I've been wanting to do for a while and I finally got the materials and this is the first of many I hope. I've never done any casting before but I think its going to be fun.It's Coffee beans casted in Red Poly Resin with about 15 coats of CA. C&C Welcome.

David DeCristoforo
02-12-2012, 5:35 PM
Pretty cool, Donny. But "coffee beans"? That's it? What kind of coffee beans??? Don't you realize that saying it made of "coffee beans" is like saying it's "made of wood"? No one would consider saying that. They always say what kind of wood it is and how they acquired it or how the tree smashed their car and they are hoping to get enough out of selling the turnings they get out of the tree to pay for a new car. It's all about the story. We want the story...

Steve Mellott
02-12-2012, 5:36 PM
Donny:

I think this looks great! Can you briefly describe the casting process? Did you use some sort of pressure pot to minimize the voids? What kind of resin did you use? Once again, good job. Thanks.

Steve

Harvey Ghesser
02-12-2012, 5:43 PM
Very nice, Donny! Thanks for sharing..

Jim Burr
02-12-2012, 5:51 PM
Nice work dude...those are a lot of fun and sell better than turned flowers!! Shop smell great too!

Steve Schlumpf
02-12-2012, 6:02 PM
Donny - I think that's pretty cool looking but - just me - I would have preferred something that allowed me to see the beans more clearly. Nice colors though!

David E Keller
02-12-2012, 6:11 PM