PDA

View Full Version : Sawstop opinion needed

Michael Ginsberg
02-11-2012, 3:56 PM
I am about to upgrade my table saw from my older Ridgid contactor saw to a new Sawstop. I am a hobbyist that likes good tools. I am spending a good bit of money on this, so I do not want to have regrets that I should have gotten the "better" model. I also don't want to blow money wastefully.
So..
Do I get the professional model 3 hp. or spend another grand for the industrial?
What I don't know, is industrial worth the extra money and will difference be perceivable?

Thanks for the input.

John Coloccia
02-11-2012, 4:04 PM
PCS, in my opinon. The ICS is a beast and is really designed to run 24/7. The PCS will make you very happy.

Bob Falk
02-11-2012, 4:05 PM
I have an ICS. I wasn't really looking for an ICS, but I bought it used and the price was right. I love it, however had it been the PCS I'm sure I would have been as happy. As I understand it, the ICS has more motor options for the industrial environment....beyond that, I doubt it cuts boards any straighter. If I were you, I would buy the PCS and spend the extra money on high quality blades. My $0.02. bob

Sam Murdoch
02-11-2012, 4:10 PM
I am a hobbyist that likes good tools.

Thanks for the input.

I don't own the SawStop (yet) but having owned and used all kinds of table saws from 3/4 hp Craftsman to an 8hp Griggo Industrial sliding panel saw and lots of 3 hp saws in between, I can't imagine that a "hobbyist", even a 40 hour per week hobbyist, could justify the extra expense for an industrial grade saw. You could buy some very nice accessories or hand tools or Festool sanders, etc. with the money saved by purchasing the professional 3 hp model rather than the industrial model. The latter will be such a wonderful upgrade from your Rigid that you will never even think about needing more. Just my thoughts on the matter :).

JohnT Fitzgerald
02-11-2012, 4:12 PM