PDA

View Full Version : micro bevel question

James Vogts
02-08-2012, 10:35 PM
Guys,

I am just getting into hand planes. I have a #4 V3 woodriver hand plane, the veritas honing guide and king waterstones. My blade has a microbevel on it. Now when I want to sharpen the blade again, can I just sharpen the microbevel, or do I need to get rid of the microbevel and start over?

John Coloccia
02-08-2012, 10:42 PM
Guys,

I am just getting into hand planes. I have a #4 V3 woodriver hand plane, the veritas honing guide and king waterstones. My blade has a microbevel on it. Now when I want to sharpen the blade again, can I just sharpen the microbevel, or do I need to get rid of the microbevel and start over?

Just sharpen the microbevel. Even better, keep a strop nearby and strop often. Your edge will last a lot longer that way.

Anyhow, the whole point of a microbevel is so you don't have to keep sharpening the primary bevel. That's a lot of very hard metal to work!

It's the same with a hollow bevel. Once you establish the hollow, you're really only sharpening on the edges of the bevel....most of it doesn't touch the flat stone. When you start creating a flat that's large enough to take a lot of time to sharpen, you reestablish the hollow.

With a microbevel, when you've enlarged it enough that it takes more than a few seconds to sharpen and hone, just reestablish the primary bevel and start over :)

James Vogts
02-08-2012, 10:46 PM
I had a hunch that was the case. I will have to look into getting strop. Thanks.

Another question. I have glued up some soft maple that is about 15" wide by 40" long. I used the hand plane across the grain to flatten glue up, so it was somewhat rough after that. then I ran the hand plane with the grain to smooth it out. It works pretty well but I am getting some tearout, and right when I start the plane on the glue up I get some chatter. Any suggestions?

Ron Kellison
02-08-2012, 10:46 PM