PDA

View Full Version : FOr ED MORGANO & ALL

Michelle Rich
02-07-2012, 10:55 AM
Many years ago i saw Han's work & he was mum about how he achieved these many axis turnings. So I studied it awhile and came up with this jig. Remember this is dangerous with the spinning nuts & bolts. You will also need PATIENCE & very calm hands. do this at your own risk.222949

Dan Hintz
02-07-2012, 11:48 AM
Michelle,

A suggestion... find some of that pool noodle foam at the local $1 store (or pipe insulation at your local Borg) and slide it over the bolts. It will still likely hurt like a mother if you get snagged, but the foam will be easier to see the whirring edge and is less likely to take away major chunks of flesh should you make contact.

Chip Sutherland
02-07-2012, 1:11 PM
That looks like a classic donut chuck. I invested in multple sizes or threaded rods and I orient them so that the excess is towards the head stock and there is minimal amount sticking out. Thanks for the pool noodle idea although I'm thinking about using the foam as the seat for some spheres...so the pool noodle I'm thinking about has a hole in the middle already. Also I can slice the noodle into varios thicknesses.....something to noddle on.:D

Ronald Smythe
02-07-2012, 2:20 PM
why not drill holes part way through the plywood so you can recess the head/washer on the side toward the end user? Another possibility would be to use carriage bolts instead of all thread, provided you can get them long enough. I have 6" ones, or so, on my donut chuck and they work fine without the added fear factor.

Michelle Rich
02-07-2012, 2:23 PM
It's just a picture..when you use it the sharp ends aren't sitting out. You need much more than 6" to do what this does. Apparantly you do not understand what this is.You would have to read earlier post to understand.

Bill Wyko
02-07-2012, 2:38 PM
Very cool device I must say. Thanks for posting it. Building one of these will definitely be on my to do list. Thanks Michelle:)