PDA

View Full Version : The Keeton Legacy - perhaps?????

John Keeton
02-05-2012, 7:21 AM
The thread on "How many years do you have left" is timely! As stated in that thread, I have been woodworking for about 50 years, and with five kids, including my two and Ms. Keeton's three, and 14 grandchildren, I have always wished at least one of the brood would take up a love of wood.

Our youngest is 37, and they are all way too busy with their kids. I had given up hope of passing along my passion. It is also somewhat saddening to see that today's generation really does not partake in creative, constructive hobbies - they are consumed by the activities of their children. I was raised differently - my parents nurtured me, but expected me to entertain myself. We raised our kids the same - not sure what happened!?!?!:confused:

In any event, my son and his boys were at the shop working on a Pinewood derby car, and I enticed my son to try a little turning. He was reluctant, but it wasn't long until the boys were visiting with Granny, and he and I were deep into his first bowl!! I know he has little time, works hard, and stays busy with the kids. But, I think he is hooked and I intend to nourish the affliction every chance I get.

This little cherry bowl is 5.75" x 2", and except for a few cuts, it is his creation. He is cautious, and wanted to do it himself. As a result, I do think he learned a lot.

222677 222678 222679
Who knows - maybe I will leave this passion with one of my offspring!! May need to change my will and leave him the lathe!

Michelle Rich
02-05-2012, 7:28 AM
chip off the old block! :-)

Tom Winship
02-05-2012, 7:46 AM
Wish my first one a year last year had looked that good! On second thought, I wish every one I do now would be that good.
Congrats to Chris...........and you!

Brian Libby
02-05-2012, 7:48 AM