PDA

View Full Version : Tenon saw re-work - Logs and Lumber Sawmill in York, NE

Randy Clements
02-03-2012, 1:40 PM
I picked up a neat little backsaw from an antique shop for a song and decided it needed a little help. It was 13tpi crosscut and I really wanted it to cut tenon cheeks, as it has a fairly deep sawplate (almost 4"). I looked around the web for saw service, and found a shop in York, NE that does re-toothing, sharpening, setting, etc. The place is www.logsandlumbersawmill.com (http://www.logsandlumbersawmill.com) - I clicked the Sharpening link and found their prices reasonable.

I e-mailed them and got good information from a guy named Jim, who was able to identify it as a Disston-type backsaw. It has a Montgomery Ward (Wards-Master) etching on the sawplate, and a Warranted Superior medallion. He was very good to work with, and as I'm a new woodworker, offered some advice. I was wanting to get it cut to 10tpi full rip, but he asked if I'd had any experience sawing with full rip. He recommended since I'm new, it might help me if he did a half-rip filing, as it was easier to control. So I took his advice, and sent things in.

They do their sharpening on Friday, so they should be working on it likely today and have it shipped back out soon. I'll give a full review once I receive it back!

two before shots:

Joshua Byrd
02-03-2012, 3:01 PM
That should be a fine little user once you get it back. Looks quite similar to one that I just recently refurbished. After cleaning the plate, I didn't see an etch, but it does have the Disston Keystone warranted superior medallion, so it's at least Disston-made.

I don't think I posted images on this forum of it yet, so here are a couple:

Before:

After:

David Weaver
02-03-2012, 3:15 PM