PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

Dan Forman
03-17-2005, 10:06 PM
Just thought it time to introduce myself. I am relatively new to woodworking, have put together a few purely functional projects, decided to take the plunge and assemble a proper home shop in my basement. Just bought a 50 inch Unisaw, now all I have to do is support it with a jointer, planer, bandsaw, and dust collector. Oh...and then actually build some stuff. There are a host of warm up projects to do that are shop related, utility cabinets and such, to get me acquainted with the tools and techniques, Better to make the first hundred mistakes on those before tackling the kitchen cabinets and other furniture I am currently in need of.

I have been doing a bit of research into these items, which can be a dangerous thing for someone without unlimited means. For me it invariably leads to wanting more out of a tool, which means that the price for that object goes up correspondingly. lol I think that I am missing the software which ordinarily tells one where to stop, where to draw the line between what is possible and what is reasonable, given that I am not at this moment a "professional".

I am of the school, however, that believes it is better to be over than under equipped. I am more likely to suffer buyers remorse upon finding out that I didn't spend enough than the other way around.

I am following with interest the various threads about jointers, particularly the one on the new Powermatic parallelogram table 8" vs the DJ20, going back and forth over one of these two vs the Grizzly 8" with spiral cutterhead.