PDA

View Full Version : Infill plane Kit

Mike Allen1010
01-30-2012, 7:38 PM
I finally finished a St. James Bay Tool Company Norris type infill plane kit I've been working on and off for the past six months. It is a Norris type cast bronze body with 50° frog and screw adjuster.

I have a number of LV bevel up, LN and rehabilitated Stanley smoothers and always wanted to try an infill plane but couldn't afford to buy one so I opted for this kit.

I thought most of the work would be in building the wooden infill however the casting was really rough (the mouth was roughly milled in but just barely penetrated the sole).All the metal parts including the body, Iron, lever screw and chip breaker required pretty extensive filing to make the parts fit. The instructions weren’t very helpful, but the owner at St. James Bay tool Company was always available by phone and very helpful.

I'm really not much of a metalworker and did all the adjustments with files, granite lapping plate sandpaper and water stones and it took me at least a week of full-time work to get all the metalworking done. I'm sure others here with better metalworking skills could've done it more quickly.

The infill is a turning block I picked up at Rockler that was labeled Brazilian Rosewood that I cut and shaped with hand tools. I attached the infill to the casting with epoxy. The blade is 3/16” thick (I'm not sure what kind of steel) but it didn't take as keen an edge as the Hock A2 blades I generally use.

The mouth ended up a little wider than what I was shooting for, but I have to confess towards the end of the build I was pretty tired of filing and eager to put everything together so I could try it out.

The lateral adjustment mechanism took quite a bit of fiddling (I had to file down the sides of the round capture fitting and the insides of the bronze frog casting to create enough space for meaningful movement), but I was able to get the blade parallel to the sole and take some fine shavings.