PDA

View Full Version : veritas plane set screws question

Steven Lee, NC
01-28-2012, 7:57 PM
I'm a noob when it comes to hand tools and got a veritas plane because I want to build a shooting board. The set screws to keep the plane blade from shifting, am I supposed to lock tite it once I get it where I like it?

I just finished trying to set one up and am super impressed with the shavings this thing is producing and I haven't even sharpened it yet.

Gonna practice sharpening some junk plane blades before attempting to sharpen the one that came with the plane.

thanks

Derek Cohen
01-28-2012, 8:45 PM
Hi Steven

No, do not use loctite. The setscrews may be used for a few things, one of which is to create a template for the blade so that you may return it to the exact position after removal for honing. Another is to use the screws for fine lateral adjustment of the blade.

Regards from Perth

Derek

Jim Stewart
01-28-2012, 8:55 PM
I find the set screws a pain. You will need to adjust them each time you replace the blade. I don't use them at all anymore. I do luv the bevel up planes. Particularly the smoothing plane.

Jim

Steven Lee, NC
01-28-2012, 9:15 PM
thanks! ...

Paul Saffold
01-28-2012, 10:04 PM
I have a few LV planes and I like the set screws. Once I set them for a blade I rarely need to touch them. I get the blade where I want it then tighten the set screws until they are just a cat's whisker from touching the blade. Sorry I don't know the imperial or metric equivalent to that. There is enough clearance to get the blade in and out but that's all. It makes lateral adjustments much more predictable.

Paul

Mark Dorman
01-29-2012, 12:08 AM
+1 on what Paul said. two years ago when I got my plane I thought they where a good idea and I still do.

Michael Ray Smith
01-29-2012, 2:15 AM
+1 again. I like the set screws. I might go to within 3/4 of a cat's whisker though.