PDA

View Full Version : Hand plane learning, questions

Rick Moyer
01-27-2012, 12:24 PM
I have not ventured onto this section of Sawmill Creek before as I have very little experience or knowledge with non-powered woodworking tools.
I apologize for not reading all I probably could have to maybe answer my questions from what may already be posted here. I'm not intending to convert to Neander, but I have some planes that were my father's (and grandfather's) and I wish to preserve, refurbish, and understand them better.

I guess I am mainly looking for advice on a book or other resources to help my understanding. I'm not looking for mentoring as much as some good reference material to get me started.
Thanks.

Joe Bailey
01-27-2012, 12:47 PM
As far as books go, you could do a lot worse than Garrett Hack's "The Handplane book".
For non-book resources, go to here:
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?103805-Neanderthal-wisdom-FAQs
where Mr. Naqvi has been kind enough to categorize and link to everything worth saving.

Jim Koepke
01-27-2012, 12:51 PM
There is some great reference material here on SMC in the Sticky: Neanderthal wisdom/FAQs post near the top of the forum.

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?148076

Is one I posted.

Bob Smalser has a few posts that will also be helpful.

There are a few links included in the my post.

Garret Hack has a good book on general plane information.

Chris Schwarz also has a book that many recommend.

If you want to figure out when the plane was made, Johnny Kleso has a great site with plane information and information about the changes to the Stanley planes and when they took place.

https://home.comcast.net/~rarebear/planes101/typing/typing.htm

Post some pictures and the folks here can help with more information.

jtk

Jim Matthews
01-27-2012, 4:27 PM
Just to prime the pump;
if you intend to be a tool user, rather than tool repairman - buy new.