PDA

View Full Version : Changing PPI on a saw

Shaun Mahood
01-27-2012, 12:13 AM
I've got a garage sale D8 thats about 7 ppi xcut right now, I want to change it to 5 ppi rip. I've been trying to file away the teeth and am strting to think I either have crappy files or the saw metal is too hard. This is my first time at this so it may be working fine and I'm worrying for nothing. Any advice or ideas?

Sean Richards
01-27-2012, 1:50 AM
Bit late but 5 point rip saws are pretty common. A new mill file should get the existing teeth of pretty quickly though.

Mike Holbrook
01-27-2012, 2:29 AM
In his video on sharpening Herman uses a metal saw jointer to level teeth. The jointer simply holds a mill file perpendicular to the teeth making it easy to take all the teeth down nice & level. Herman mentions using a simpler block of wood to achieve the same result. Tools for Working Wood- Gramercy sells mill files for this work. The files used to shape & sharpen teeth are not meant for this work.

David Weaver
01-27-2012, 7:50 AM
Ditto to above, big mill file. If you need to, cut a groove in a scrap of 4/4 material that's a snug fit for the file so you can keep the file close to 90 degrees from the plate. Have a couple of files on hand to cut the teeth you want, and mark and start them with something that's easy to move on the teeth, like a file with a little wear on the corner.

I've found it easier when cutting teeth to put a paper template on the saw plate and tape it down to start the teeth - the paper is enough of a barrier that you can start with a sharp file and not a hacksaw or a dull file.

Make yourself a guide block to put the end of the file in to ensure that your rake is consistent.

Jim Matthews
01-27-2012, 8:27 AM
I've found it easier when cutting teeth to put a paper template on the saw plate and tape it down to start the teeth - the paper is enough of a barrier that you can start with a sharp file and not a hacksaw or a dull file.

That's good idea, right there.