PDA

View Full Version : Got a new band saw

Joe Hillmann
01-25-2012, 6:06 PM
I just got a new(to me)band saw. A little table top machine that takes 59 1/4 blades. I want to try making bandsaw boxes out of 3 in lumber with it. Can anyone suggest what type of blades I should be look at? I am thinking a 1/4 or 1/8 inch blade and very few tpi. The blade I have in it now looks like it is 3/8 with 6 tpi and it wanders all over and I can't cut curves very well but I think that is because it was over heated and lost it's set. I have very little experience with bandsaws so I don't really know where to begin when looking for new blades.

Paul McGaha
01-25-2012, 6:57 PM
Congratulations Joe, Please post a picture of it when you can.

Some of our guys know a lot about band saws and hopefully they can help you.

PHM

dennis thompson
01-25-2012, 7:44 PM
You might want to call Suffolk Machinery (800-234-7297). When I got my bandsaw & knew nothing about what blade to use, I called & they were very helpful
Dennis

John McClanahan
01-25-2012, 9:41 PM
If it is a 3 wheel band saw, you may not be able to prevent wandering while cutting thick wood. What is the horse power rating of the motor?

John

Van Huskey
01-25-2012, 11:18 PM
You may want to consider getting a bi-metal blade, it will save money in the long run. I would go to Spectrum Supply and get a Lenox Diemaster 1/4" .025 gauge 6TPI hook band. Will cost about $25 and outlast a carbon blade by a LOT and Swedish High Silicon steel like the Timberwolf blades by even more.

Joe Hillmann
01-26-2012, 9:37 AM
What is a 3 wheel band saw? It is just a little table top machine, I think they can be bought new for under $120 so it is pretty low end but for $20 I couldn't pass on it, It looks like brand new except for the blade.

Van Huskey
01-26-2012, 9:48 AM