PDA

View Full Version : Veritas Handsaw Sharpener

Mike Holbrook
01-23-2012, 5:47 AM
I am new to handsaw sharpening. I bought Tom Law's sharpening DVD from TFWW and watched it. I also just bought the Gramercy Saw Vise. I have a good selection of files from Gramercy & Wenzloff. I would like to be able to do some combo sharpening. I have a Gramercy Sash saw, like the way it cuts, and may want to be able to match the more subtle fleam & rake angles.

I found a Handsaw Sharpener made by Veritas that looks like it is designed to help keep ones file at the right angle, depth...I wonder if anyone has actually used one of these devises and would care to comment on how they like it?

Jessica Pierce-LaRose
01-23-2012, 7:35 AM
I haven't used it, but the big issue I see with those things is that you have to use the special files for it, and I don't know if they come in different sizes, and they're more expensive than using a traditional triangular file. If you're just doing quick touchups, it may last a while, but I go through a fair amount of files rehabbing vintage saws and changing the profile of teeth as saws get cycled through to different tasks as my collection grows. In my experience, even a poorly sharpened saw can do pretty good work compared to a well sharpened saw that has gotten dull. I think it's worth it to just practice and get the technique down. I by no means think I am an expert as saw sharpening, but I was surprised at how easy it was to sharpen my own saws. It was more work to cobble together a saw vise than actually sharpen a saw. You've already got a nice vise there, so you should be good to go. Some guide blocks and you should be doing fine.

I haven't seen Law's video, but I have seen the one by Ron Herman. How'd you like Law's video?