PDA

View Full Version : white oak finish

bill walton
03-16-2005, 10:57 AM
I'm building a bedroom set from QS white oak and really like the pale color and want to preserve this. It seems like most projects I see of this material have been darkened. I'm considering making the 4 posts and the top of the dresser from walnut. Fellow forum members, any comments on this combination. My visualization looks good but I'm seeking additional input before I start the walnut posts. Also any recommendations on the finish for the project. I'm thinking of clear satin lacquer but have no experience with it on the oak. Would this detract from the grain and flake of the oak? I'm always a bit insecureabout finishes.

Thanks in advance

Richard Ferment
03-16-2005, 12:40 PM
:) Hi Bill, I am by no means a expert on finishes, however I have made a few projects with QS White oak. Dineing Room Table with 4 chairs, Stand alone Book Case, Craftsman Style Futon Frame, and a few Blanket Chests.
I have always started with BLO followed by 2 coats of 2# cut Supper Blonde Shelac, top coat 3-4 coats varnish. This will darkin the oak a little. But the BLO realy brings the ray fleck out and the shelac adds depth and warms up the piece. The varnish top coat is for protection. Please ! try a piece of scrap first. This is just my way and what I like. You may have diferent tastes and of course your own style.
As for the Wallnut posts and top, that goes to what you like and your style. I think it would look great!
Hope this helps a little. I am sure you will get more posts, there are alot of members out there who are great finishers. :)

bill walton
03-16-2005, 12:54 PM
I've got plenty of scraps and I thought I'd try a number of the suggestions I receive. I appreciate your idea.

Alan Turner
03-16-2005, 2:11 PM