PDA

View Full Version : need help picking out stile & rail set

Dennis Goodrich
03-14-2005, 6:48 PM
hello, I am fairly new to woodworking and own most all of the tools and machines to do any project. I want to make some cabinet doors and want to buy a stile and rail set. I have a P/C 3-1/4 router and table. My question is which set do I buy? Just the standard 3 pc. set or one with the glue joint bit, or with door lip bit, or with drawerlock bit I am not sure how often I would use the latter two. I am thinking of FREUD. Any comments and tips are greatly appriciated. Thanks GOODY

Ted Shrader
03-14-2005, 7:10 PM
Goody -

First, Welcome to the Creek. Great bunch of folks here with a lot to share.

Just buy the three piece set with the profile you want - (1) Rail cutter, (2) Stile cutter, (3) Panel raiser. The other bits, as you point out, do not get used enough to justify the extra $$$. You don't necessarily need a back cutter on the panel raiser, either. There are ways to cut the relief on the back side without running it through a bit cutting both the top and bottom of the panel at the same time.

Freud is a good choice as are some of the other name brands; Amana, Whiteside, CMT. Pick a profile and a price you like.

Welcome,
Ted

Keith Hall
03-14-2005, 7:46 PM