PDA

View Full Version : So do I need a 20 amp outlet?

Troy Turner
01-09-2012, 4:08 PM
So I was running some 14-2 for an outlet for my clock radio. My 15amp socket had the push-hole in the back, but it only fit 14 ga wire. So I got to looking at the rest of my outlets. Yup, 15ga outlets everywhere with 12-2 and they're all on 20amp breakers.

I haven't looked at the specs yet, but will when I get home. I guess if they're rated for 15 amps, then I'm good.

So the question is, for my T/S and bandsaw, they're both older Craftsman belt drives. Am I losing anything by only having them on 15amp outlets? My shop was my first major electrical doing many years ago...so it's possibly I didn't do ALL my homework. I'm going to put a couple more outlets up, but if I need to go to a 20amp outlet, I'll just replace all of them. There's only about 10 total, even with the new ones.

Thanks for the advice...

Rick Moyer
01-09-2012, 4:40 PM
I'm not an electrician so this is only my opinion: You need to know what the max amp draw is on whatever you plug into those outlets. 20amp breaker is designed to protect the wiring so 12-2 is good there, but the outlet should match as well. That being said, if you don't draw anywhere near 15 amps from the item plugged into those outlets YOU'LL likely be fine. But what if SOMEONE ELSE plugs a higher amp tool into the outlet, not realizing the outlet is only rated for 15a? I would replace all of the outlets to correctly match the breaker/wire circuit. That would be the best approach.

Kent A Bathurst
01-09-2012, 4:47 PM
Sorry, but I have to answer a question you did not ask. If you are running 14ga wire, you are limited to a 15a breaker, to the best of my knowledge. The reason is that with a 20a breaker, you can pull more power than the wire can handle, and you don't want that happening. The wire becomes a fusible link.........:eek: