PDA

View Full Version : Turn distance, connections, etc. DC

Craig Behnke
01-09-2012, 1:16 PM
A few questions setting up DC ducting. It's my first time installing. I searched the forum but didn't find direct answers to the following.

I have a 3.5HP tempest cyclone with 7" intake and 6" main lines of spiral steel duct. The way my preliminary layout is shaping up, the main line run will be straight off the cyclone, about 12 feet with 3 total drops. About 3 ft out from the cyclone I may place a wye to make a secondary perpendicular run of about 12 ft, straight, with 2 drops. The main and secondary lines are all 6”.

I see some pictures of DC systems with ducts that have major turns or wye's as close as 18 inches from the cyclone. What is a back of the envelope way to gauge the trade-off in performance as you move a wye closer to the cyclone? With the way I’d like to route my ductwork, it would require a wye about 3ft from the cyclone body. Is that getting too close to being a major performance killer?

How do you guys connect pieces together? Do you use foil tape, silicon sealer? screws? Any combination of those methods? Do you seal just the outside of the connection or do you also seal the surface portions of the joint (where the two pieces overlap)?

Also, it seems like having 6” ductwork hanging from the ceiling would not be very stable (side to side). Is it okay/good to have it be able to move a little? Should I try to get it stable (side to side).

Thanks for the input.

Nick Lazz
01-11-2012, 2:14 PM
Craig,

If you already bought your steel duct, I guess you might as well use it. Very nice stuff...however you could save a significant amount of money by using plastic.