PDA

View Full Version : Need Software suggestions...

Jimmy L Taylor
01-09-2012, 12:08 AM
Ok, need a recommendation. I recently purchased a 60 watt Epilog Helix along with Corel X5 and photolaser plus. I have not had any success with photolaser plus. I am thinking of going with another software program for photos. I am looking at photograv and one touch. What do you recommend? What works the best with my helix? Keep in mind I have zero experience so I need something user friendly. I am open to all suggestions. Thanks for any help!

Larry Allred
01-09-2012, 12:50 AM
ARA offers a class that will make all the difference for you. I took it at the Awards show and seminar last year in Las Vegas. (Coming again this year the week of March 6th)

Go to ARA dot org and look at the events. The classes are usually well worth the trip, and it's good to meet vendors and get ideas of new projects. BTW, ARA is good to me a member of. If you are many of the classes are free!

Mike Null
01-09-2012, 4:13 AM
I believe it would be a waste of money to buy new software before giving Corel and PhotoPaint a good test. You can do all that it needed with this software if you practice a bit.

paul mott
01-09-2012, 7:19 AM
Something you can try totally for free is the 'XiMagic' gray dither plugin which will run within the free software 'IrfanView'. It takes a bit of practice (but doesn’t all software) but you can expect good results which IMO are equal to Photograv. :)

Paul.

Martin Boekers
01-09-2012, 10:08 AM
Roy Brewer has a nice selection of videos on YouTube. I strongley recommend you check them out. Esp. the one on halftoning
in Corel.

There is NO panacea of software that will do everything you want. There have been numerous postings here about converting
photos to halftones or 1 bit files. PhotoGrav, One Touch, PP, PS, the Gold Method etc.

If you are new (and even if not) I suggest that you take time to read the all the posts in this forum. You will find many