PDA

View Full Version : Hammer K3 consideration

greg hallquist
01-07-2012, 4:13 PM
I recently purchased a Hammer A3 31. My shop is very small, although I make furniture that is not. This machine is replacing my Delta DJ 20 and Jet JPW 15 planer which I will sell. The extra room is phenomenal, and this gives me a chance to experience the quality of a Hammer machine.

That being said, I am seriously considering the purchase of a Hammer K3 to replace my delta unisaw. I have no experience with a sliding table saw, so im not sure what size sliding table to get - the 48/31 (rip/sliding table size) is on sale for $3,250, and the 48/48 is $4,000 - a big jump in price.

I am a serios hobbiest, and make pieces for our house - Thomas Moser's Hanneford Hutch, a federal huntboard, our dining room table, etc. intuitively, I believe that a sliding tablesaw will give me more versatility in my shop, and is a smart move. I have been very pleased with my decisions to go with the A3 31, and Festool tools for example - they have given me the ability to achieve a higher level of precision than I had before.

Are there others out there who have taken the plunge with a sliding table saw that have regretted the decision? Others who are thankful they went that way?

Thanks for any input.

Greg

C Scott McDonald
01-07-2012, 6:36 PM
Hi Greg,

Welcome to Sawmill Creek.

I have the Hammer K3 winner and would highly recommend it. It has been a fantasic saw. I love the braking it has for the blade. It is the best piece of equipment in my shop currently.