PDA

View Full Version : carbon fiber console.

Bill Wyko
01-07-2012, 1:03 PM
Most of you know me for turning and humidors. But, you don't know me for what pays the bills around here. Well here's a little example of what I do for a living. This is a wood console that is shaped then outfitted with a carbon fiber shell on the outside. Please enjoy and let me know what you think.

http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2109/11908737/23572979/400407297.jpg
Ant the carbon fiber woofer box & bed kit. This is done by making a wood skeleton then stretching speaker grill cloth over the frame. Then I lay up fiberglass over the cloth and body work it to a smooth surface. Then I upholster it. Since this picture, the interior of the woofer box has been changed to Carbon fiber. I'll post pics once I put it back together.
http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2109/11908737/23572979/393302165.jpg

Tad Capar
01-07-2012, 5:46 PM
WOW - that's custom built! Very interesting how custom car stereo installation have progressed over the years. Back in early '80's I had started to supplement my income by making speaker boxes for couple local custom car stereo businesses. Back than black "Formica" was the popular choice of finishes. Is that a "pexiglas" on the woofer box or is it left open to see through? Please post more pictures and explain the "carbon fiber".

Bill Wyko
01-07-2012, 6:27 PM
That is 3/4" plexi glass that we bent here in house. The whole thing is coming together next week so I'll post a lot more pics asap. This animal has 16,000 watts using 9 JBL amplifiers. It has 4 batteries and actually can listen to itself and tune itself for perfect sound reproduction. We can control the whole system from a touch pad outside the vehicle. When it's not in use, it motorizes away in the console. We also made the steering wheel controls run the touch pad as well. The back of the console houses thre x-over networks and are covered by a bent piece of polished 3/4" plexi.

Jason Adkins