PDA

View Full Version : WTB Table Saw NEED ADVISE PLEASE???

Matt Johnson
03-13-2005, 9:59 PM
My wife and I just bought a house with a shop so I am starting a small woodworking shop for a new hobby. Other than a few years of woodworking classes in high school, 7 years ago, I am new to woodworking. I bought a 13" Deta planer, Craftsmen router and table and other tools for woodworking. I have a $80 Delta table saw that is good for nothing so I am looking for a much better table saw.
I want a the best table saw I can get for $600.00 or less (the lesser the better but no junk). I have been looking on Amazon.com at a Delta CS 36-680 and the TS350. I am not set on Delta so please make any recommendations you want. $600.00 is the most I will spend being that I am just starting out. I am also interested in the Delta TS350 at $370.00. I plan to make things like hope chest, dressers, curio cabinets and I also want to reface my kitchen cabinets so I want one that works well for that sort of work. I know a cabinet saw would be best but I can't spend that kind of money on one at this time. Any info. on what table saws to buy or NOT buy in my price range would be appreciated. Thanks.

Corey Hallagan
03-13-2005, 10:15 PM
Go for the CS 36-680, much better saw than the TS350 which is a direct drive saw. I bought the CS 36-675 ($399) at home depot, same as the 680 only the 680 has cast iron extensions, where as the 675 has the stamped steel extensions. For $399, it is a great saw, but the sale may now be very hard to find in stock, been going on for 6 weeks or so. The Amazon deal has free shipping on the 36 680 and a free mobile stand or other accessory. Either one will be a good table saw for you. If you want the 36-675 and can't find it at home depot, Sears sells it for 499.00 a great saw at that price as well. Again, pass on the TS 350, it is a universal motor and a lesser fence.The 675 and 680 contractors saw both come with the T2 fence which is a very nice fence.