PDA

View Full Version : Storing "Icicle" Christmas lights

Ole Anderson
01-05-2012, 4:29 PM
Well, I just took down the 8 strings (about 80 feet) of those white "icicle" style outdoor Christmas lights I had along the eaves of my home. This is my first year for those lights and they are a pain to put up, mainly trying to get the "icicles" to unfold and hang reasonably straight. Of course I bought the heavy duty commercial version with the heavy wires which compounds the problem. Now the problem of how to store them without "folding" them up like they were when in the box. For now I just laid them, end to end and still connected, in a big plastic storage tub. Seemed too easy and I am afraid I will have a big mess next year. Anybody have a good trick on how to store those bad boys?

Ben Hatcher
01-05-2012, 4:44 PM
I lay them out on top of newspapers or a roll of that brown paper and roll them up. Every other way I've tried ends up with a huge tangle of icicles.

Van Huskey
01-05-2012, 5:37 PM
I hang my light strings in the attic, I don't hang them tight but just the weight keeps them nice and stretched out. To bring them down I just loosely coil them in my hand. After the initial "from the box" year they all hung correctly, no herky jerky up and down bends in the wires.

Ole Anderson
01-05-2012, 5:58 PM
I was thinking about stringing them out in the attic with a fishing weight on the end of each icicle, hoping the weight and summer heat would straighten them out. But I was too lazy and the attic is too crowded. For now I will just keep my fingers crossed next fall when I try to string them up again right out of the tub.

Anthony Whitesell
01-05-2012, 7:39 PM
Ok. So I'm a woodworker. I built 12x12x30 tall frames from 1/2" square stock and noticed the outer corners every 4" in a one 1" spiral that I use to wrap the icicle lights around to store in the attic.