PDA

View Full Version : Finally got a lathe- 2nd turning picture, and a question

Bill Brush
12-29-2011, 12:09 PM
After wanting a lathe since I graduated high school (20+ years ago) I got one this fall. It wasn't what I wanted, but my wife found it on Craigslist and told me to go buy it. Apparently she was getting tired of me putting it off. It is not a quality tool, but it does work and it was only $40. I figure if it lasts me a while, maybe funds my next lathe purchase, it can then be re-purposed for something else. The base was flimsy sheet steel and it was bent from being dropped so I replaced it with a 2x10. The base issue contributed to breaking the first test piece. I managed to get another piece successfully turned but I don't have pictures of it.

Anyway, here's the lathe:

And here's the turning:

My daughter is a big Harry Potter fan, and my niece got the first turning which was also a wand. This one turned out better though. Lesson to me, patience and creativity can compensate for cheap tools (at least somewhat).

So here's the question:

The wood I used was sold as "Redheart" and it's gorgeous wood, but I don't think that's the right name for it as I can't find it anywhere. The piece I used is one I've had for many years. It's extremely hard, closed-grained, and heavy. Can anyone shed any light on what it might be? It is an awesome wood for turning based on my one experience and it finishes beautifully.

Marty Eargle
12-29-2011, 12:20 PM
Congrats on the new lathe! Apologies to your wallet from here on out.

As for the wood, how does it finish? Almost looks like some Bloodwood that I was working with recently, and was a pain to sand and finish.

Justin Stephen
12-29-2011, 12:22 PM
Well, there is a wood called (at least sometimes) "redheart." I have seen it sold by this name in at least on exotic lumber store in the past.

Here are some pages with some info about it:

http://www.bellforestproducts.com/exotic-wood/redheart/