PDA

View Full Version : anyone doing non profit work

Shawn Russell
12-28-2011, 11:00 PM
I have gotten the entrepreneur bug pretty bad. However, I am not looking at from a capitalist mindset.. I am taking the view of the Khan Academy.

What if I could help teach others what I have a passion for? I have a few years of glass experience and am slowly building my woodworking skills. My wife teaches piano and flute and speaks quite a few languages. We both are able to work from home and even with that have fairly flexibly day time hours. We are working on putting together a curriculum that fosters vocational arts, music, dance, and language for foster children.

Now, I am starting to think a little more global. What if we bought space and turned it into something like the Y that focuses on the arts. This is very much an extremely early idea. We will flush out many of the kinks as we work with foster children and evaluate how we can scale this. But, it certainly has my mind thinking.

Aside from the usual.. zoning, insurance, parental permission... what are ideas, concerns or other thoughts would you offer?

I expect this to be a 2-3 year out kind of project, but I would sure love to flush out as many ideas as possible.

Dan Hintz
12-29-2011, 6:55 AM
anyone doing non profit work
Every time I work with schools, churches, turning clubs, etc. ;)

Chris Damm
12-29-2011, 8:42 AM
It seems that everything I make in my shop is for realtives so I guess it's all more than non profit, I pay for materials too!

Matt Meiser
12-29-2011, 8:58 AM
Shawn there's something that, from what little I know about it, sounds like that in Benton Harbor, MI focusing on the glass aspect. The extent of my knowledge about the place is eating at the gellato place next door that displays some of the glass work and my friend who lives there explaining it.