PDA

View Full Version : Radio control airplane

Zahid Naqvi
03-11-2005, 4:31 PM
I have offered to buy an R/C airplane for my 10 year old son for his 10th, as an alternative to the latest gameboy invocation. I really want to limit his exposure to electronic entertainment. But I have no knowledge of R/C anything. Can someone provide me some basic info on what would be appropriate for that age group as a learner. Gas powered seem expensive and too complicated. I have read descriptions for "park grade" electric planes that seems interesting but not sure.

thanks for any info you can provide.

Scott Loven
03-11-2005, 4:55 PM
I used to build and fly RC airplanes until my wife told me that she would much rather see me spend my time and money on woodworking then things that crash into the ground!
I would go with an electric powered glider. Are you going to build the plane, or buy one ready to fly. Building a plane with your son could be a LOT of fun. The best thing would be to contact a local RC club to find someone to help you learn to fly. Send me an email if you want to talk on the phone.
Scott

Zahid Naqvi
03-11-2005, 5:54 PM
I used to build and fly RC airplanes until my wife told me that she would much rather see me spend my time and money on woodworking then things that crash into the ground!
I would go with an electric powered glider. Are you going to build the plane, or buy one ready to fly. Building a plane with your son could be a LOT of fun. The best thing would be to contact a local RC club to find someone to help you learn to fly. Send me an email if you want to talk on the phone.
Scott

Thanks Scott, I will PM you with some ebay links, seems like there are plenty on sale for very reasonable prices.

Darren Ford
03-11-2005, 7:07 PM