PDA

View Full Version : A brass miter plane I made long ago

george wilson
12-27-2011, 3:30 PM
This is another of my bad photos. I'm just getting started with the new slide scanner. These slides were taken with 400 speed film by me when I was an even worse photographer than I am not.

I'm not sure how I feel about the round bun I put on this plane, and the round front end of the body, which I made early on in my interest in tool making,and LONG before I became the toolmaker in Wmsbg. I don't recall seeing this type bun or body style on another miter plane,but it and the large rosewood wedge did make this a comfortable plane to use.

If you look closely,there is a thick brass edge around the rim of the bun. In the center is a screw that holds the bun on,surrounded by a brass sleeve with my name stamped around it.

It is stuffed with rosewood,and I left the tempering color on the 01 steel blade. This is the only picture that I THINK I have,but I have hundreds of slides to go through,so,who knows?

This,and many of the slides I'll be posting are over 30 years old,so I've forgotten what all I may find.

Bill White
12-27-2011, 3:46 PM
Well George, a bad photo and an old plane design qualifies you to send me the plane and all associated photos so I can include it in my "attempt to make good tools" files.
Note to self:
People would kill to have that plane.
Bill

george wilson
12-27-2011, 4:20 PM
The plane was sold not long after it was made. I had a lot of trouble with collectors seeing tools I had made n my workbench,and begging them off me.

Trevor Walsh
12-27-2011, 6:23 PM
I wish I could have that problem... What do you think contributed to that, aside from the caliber of your work? Was is exposure, did they know, or frequent where you were working?

george wilson
12-27-2011, 6:27 PM
We had up to 3000 people a day through the shop. When the EAIA was in town,they always wanted tools,too. I ran into all kinds of collectors,some of which I ended up making many tools for.