PDA

View Full Version : Let's talk chisels

jeff . whitaker
12-26-2011, 11:34 AM
Humm... Ok so I got a gift card for Lee Valley ($200.) looked around the shop and tried to decide if I wanted/needed .. I am new to the Neanderthal thing and tried to decide if I wanted a plane or chisels..
Well the planes I have are old ones I got from my father and grandfather,Stanley block planes, and no#s 4, 6 and 7...
What else would I need? Got them sharpened and tuned *maybe*:rolleyes: and te be frank all of the different types at LV leave me confused.. what will I need/want??? so I looked around the shop and my eyes lit on my Marples chisels..( sheffield england) thought I was buying top o' the line when I got them 5 years ago.. and they are better than the "tool shaped objects" that I had... three of them hold an edge for a while... three of them DO NOT! So what is the consensus about the Narex chisels ??? or should I back up and rethink the planes??
HELP!
(drowning in a sea of indecision)

Zach England
12-26-2011, 11:35 AM
Word is the Veritas is releasing their own branded chisels soon. Lee Valley also carries the new Stanley chisels. I have no experience with any of these--just pointing out some options. Also, Lee Valley has free shipping from now until the end of the year.

Joe Fabbri
12-26-2011, 12:09 PM
Hi Jeff,

I think if you already have a few old planes that aren't in really bad shape, you should focus on rehabing those. They'll likely be better than newer lesser brand planes, especially if well-tuned. Maybe you should think about investing in a decent sharpening stone. Lee Valley has quite a few options. I settled on the 1000/4000 water stone to start with. You could go higher with the stone grit, but like the website says, this is a good introduction to water stones, which is what I wanted.