PDA

View Full Version : Attaching cleats to poured concrete

Bob Johnson2
03-10-2005, 11:52 AM
Nothing I've used in the past seems to hold especially well when attaching anything to poured concrete, of course it's been a long time since I've had to try. Looking to make and attached a few clamp racks and some cleating for general use (hanging cabinets, jigs and such). What have you folks used recently that your happy with the performance of?

Thanks in advance.

Steve Ash
03-10-2005, 2:09 PM
Bob,
I have used tapcon fasteners when I am fastening walls to concrete floors(I'm a building contractor) If I am fastening a handrail to concrete I also use them on the wall, however I have not used them to fasten anything that will hold great loads. I think the shear strength is fine, just not certain about what the properties are for tear out. Try a search on Tapcon fasteners, perhaps you can find more info there.
Good luck!

Jeff Sudmeier
03-10-2005, 2:46 PM
Bob,

I have had VERY good luck with the Remmington, cement fasteners. What it does is fire a 22 shell to power a nail into concrete. I have had to "pull" one out and it would NOT come out, we ended up having to get the grinder to cut it off. If you use the recomended load and nail size, I have never had any problems. The gun can be bought for around $20 and the loads and nails aren't too much money. Very handy!

If you don't want to go that route, as was said the Tapcon's are great!

Frank Pellow
03-10-2005, 3:06 PM
I have had good results with the following process:

(1) Drill a hole into the concrete (say 3" deep and 11/16" wide)

(2) Hammer a wet hardwood dowel slightly bigger (say 3/4") than the hole into the cavity.

(3) Let the dowel dry

(4) Screw whatever I want to hold into the dowel.

Christian Aufreiter
03-10-2005, 3:34 PM
I have had good results with the following process:

(1) Drill a hole into the concrete (say 3" deep and 11/16" wide)