PDA

View Full Version : Why Do Stuff

Ryan Mooney
12-21-2011, 1:17 PM
I was thinking about Belinda's "Could you survive" thread and decided a more interesting question (for me) is:
Why do many of us do things that many/most people don't?
It seems that this is a more fundamental question about what drives people to actually accomplish things, especially things that the majority consider old fashioned or obsolete.

Here are a few for starters

Why make things that you can buy?

because its cheaper (and don't you dare try to count my tool costs in :rolleyes:)
because I like to know how things are made
because then I know how to fix it
I enjoy the process
Why make your own cheese/bread/wine/etc.., grow your own food, cook meals at home:

tastes better
made from healthier ingredients (at least I know what they are anyway. and shush I like butter)
I enjoy the process
For all of the above, I enjoy having "done" something. My day job is all with ephemeral bits, you do something and a month later its obsolete. My mind is happier with tangible things and to some extent things that last. My dad still uses the captains desk I made ~25 years ago and it still works great. There is something to that. Granted a fresh loaf of bread will (hopefully) not last 25 years but its no less tangible and the rewards are self evident.

Mike Henderson
12-21-2011, 1:40 PM
For all of it, I enjoy the process and the feeling of satisfaction of having accomplished something. And I don't like to feel helpless. Let me tell you a story. I was living in Florida and on one of the hottest days, my air conditioning went out. It was impossible to get someone to come fix it in any reasonable time - they were all too busy because a lot of other people had the same problem. I was quite frustrated.