PDA

View Full Version : Vacuum chucking- be aware of potential problems!

Don Geiger
12-18-2011, 11:03 AM
Vacuum chucking- be aware!

Dear fellow woodturners:

I want to share an experience I had with vacuum chucking that was a near disaster. First of all, let me say that I have had a lot of experience with vacuum chucking. I been using vacuum on three different lathes in my shop for at least ten years with great success and very few problems.

I was just finishing up an order for three bowls and decided to use a vacuum chuck when finish turning the bottoms. As a safe practice, I routinely leave the live center against the bottom of the piece until I have removed as much waste stock as possible then start the vacuum pump and slide the tail stock away. As usual I checked the vacuum gauge first and observed -24" Hg. As soon as I removed the tail stock the piece flew off the lathe and landed about 10 feet away.

I put my finger over the inlet of the pipe that goes through the spindle and felt no vacuum or flow, but the gauge still registered -24" Hg. I pushed a long drill bit through the pipe and dislodged a mud dobber's nest and immediately attained vacuum and flow.

Amazingly, my piece wasnt damaged!

The first mistake I made is I pulled a through pipe off the shelf without checking it for blockage (I live in Florida). The second mistake I made was not turning the lathe off before removing the tail stock.

I hope some of you will benefit from my misadventure.

Don Geiger

Steve Schlumpf
12-18-2011, 11:05 AM
Don - Thanks for sharing! Glad you weren't hurt and that your bowl survived!!

Alan Trout
12-18-2011, 11:20 AM
Don,

I am glad you and your bowl are OK. I can attest to the problem with mud dobber's when I use to own my machine shop they would clog every hole in the building. It was a constant fight with them and I rarely won. Just one more thing to check to prevent a disaster. Thanks.

Alan

Bernie Weishapl
12-18-2011, 11:32 AM