PDA

View Full Version : A question about pear wood and white glue bathing.

David DeCristoforo
12-17-2011, 9:28 PM
I recently received a chunk of pear wood (Bradford pear I believe) from Roger Chandler. It seemed to be quite sound and of very regular figure with a beautiful reddish hue, fine grain and no "pith" in the block. But as I cut into it, cracks began to appear almost instantly. It is as if the cracks were already there, just below the flawless surface. The piece seemed to be quite dry though not "bone dry". I could not imagine wood cracking so quickly on exposure to air. I have never worked with pear before but my experience has been that wood in general will often crack when cut but it usually does not happen the instant the fresh surface is exposed. So I now have this piece fully shaped and hollowed. I figured if it held together, I would try that 50/50 white glue and water treatment I have often read about and see if it would help either close the cracks or at least seal the wood. The cracks are all pretty fine but large enough to be apparent. The piece did remain intact and is now soaking in the glue brew. Oh right... the question... Or, I should say, questions. Has anyone had similar experiences with pear? And if so, is there any chance of the cracks disappearing or at least closing either partly or completely as stated in several of the dissertations on this treatment I have read?

Roger Chandler
12-17-2011, 9:48 PM
Wow David............that one is a surprise! :eek: That pear looked real solid when I sent it, just as you said......I am wondering since pear is so prone to wind damage if what you have "exposed" is some wind shake?

I think you will do fine with the glue/water mix for soaking...........I have never used it yet, myself, but I think it is important once soaked to let it dry for a couple of days. That should ensure a good bond on the fibers.

Do you think it might be wind shake that was not evident until cut?

David DeCristoforo